Get Wast-ED

An ever-growing list of resources, influencers, focus groups, and companies to look out for - all focused on some aspect of food waste!

Research Reports:

  • ReFed http://www.refed.com/
  • Natural Resource Defense Council - Wasted: How America is losing up to 40 percent of its food farm to fork to landfill https://www.nrdc.org/food/files/wasted-food-ip.pdf
  • CalRecycle on Food Waste 

Key Influencers:

  • Jamie Oliver @jamieoliver
  • Jonathan Bloom @wastedfood
  • Dan Barber @danbarber
  • Dana Gunders @dgunders 
  • Jordan Figueirido @uglyfruitandveg Endfoodwaste.org
  • Dana Frasz @danafrasz
  • Robert Egger @robertegger
  • Tristram Stuart @tristramstuart
  • Chellie Pingree https://pingree.house.gov/foodwaste

Yearly Events:

Global Food Summit at UC Irvine

Good Food Day hosted by the Los Angeles Food Policy Council

Organizations / Companies

  • LA Food Policy Council - Food Waste Working Group
  • WasteNot OC
  • Regrained - granola bars from spent brewery grains
  • Food Forward
  • Urban Harvester
  • Food Shift 
  • LA Kitchen - believing neither food nor people should go to waste
  • Misfit Juicery
  • Rubies in the Rubble
  • Back to the Roots
  • Coffee Flour
  • N17 Brewery
  • Cerplus
  • Imperfect Produce
  • Food Recovery Network
  • Copia